magnetic fields  from the sun to blackholes
Top Science Abstracts Program Registration Applicants Venue Social Events


Magnetic fields from the sun to black holes

In memory of Jean Heyvaerts

Institut d'Astrophysique de Paris
Paris, France November 17-19, 2014.

Key dates

Registration & Abstracts open:
June 1
Registration is closed
November 17-19


Our friend and colleague Jean Heyvaerts passed away prematurely in July 2013, leaving for future development many bold and inspiring projects that he initiated about magnetic fields and plasma dynamics. This conference aims at giving an overview of his diverse scientific interests, bringing in his deep and novel ideas. Discussed topics will include magnetic structures from stellar to cosmological scales, reconnection, heating of the solar corona, jets and accretion, relativistic plasmas and turbulence, and cosmic-ray acceleration, to name but a few.

Jean Heyvaerts was also a committed teacher who inspired generations of astronomers with his cheerful enthusiasm and remarkable lectures. This tribute will be an opportunity to gather his former disciples, colleagues, friends, as well as the current actors in this field of plasma astrophysics, from all around the world. The meeting will discuss the state of the art of the research in these fields and their future evolution.


Confirmed invited speakers :

  • Guillaume Aulanier (Observatoire de Paris)
  • Annie Baglin (Observatoire de Paris)
  • Michal Bejger (Copernicus Astronomical Center Warsaw, Poland)
  • Vasily Beskin (Lebedev Institute, Moscow, Russia)
  • Silvano Bonazzola (Observatoire de Paris)
  • Philippa Browning (University of Manchester, UK)
  • Jorg Buchner (MPI Lindau, Germany)
  • Pierre-Henri Chavanis (LTP, Toulouse, France)
  • Doris Folini (Ecole Normale Supérieure Lyon, France)
  • Terry Forbes (Space Science Center, Durham, USA)
  • Sébastien Galtier (LPP, Polytechnique, France)
  • Pawel Haensel (Copernicus Astronomical Center Warsaw, Poland)
  • Alice Harding (NASA, Greenbelt, USA)
  • Bernard Jones (Kapteyn Astronomical Inst., NL)
  • Andrew R. King (Leicester University, UK)
  • John G. Kirk (MPI Heidelberg, Germany)
  • Kanya Kusano (Nagoya University, Japan)
  • Martin Lemoine (IAP, Paris, France)
  • Pierre Léna ( Observatoire de Paris)
  • Keith Moffatt (DAMTP, Cambridge, UK)
  • Colin Norman (STScI, Baltimore, USA)
  • Guy Pelletier (IPAG, Grenoble, France)
  • Jérôme Perez (ENSTA, Paris, France)
  • Eric Priest (St Andrews University, UK)
  • Simon Prunet (CFHT, Hawaii, USA)
  • Ralph Pudritz (McMaster University, Toronto, Canada)
  • Jean-Loup Puget (IAS, Orsay, France)
  • Kazunari Shibata (University of Kyoto, Japan)
  • Kanaris Tsinganos (University of Athens, Greece)
  • Rolf Walder (École Normale Supérieure, Lyon, France)
  • Ellen Zweibel (University of Wisconsin, USA)
    "Des jets et des trous noirs"
    Jean-Pierre Lasota 7.30 pm
    Amphithéâtre (Institut d'Astrophysique de Paris)


  • Hubert Baty (Observatoire de Strasbourg)
  • Pascal Démoulin (Observatoire de Paris)
  • Edith Falgarone (Observatoire de Paris)
  • Ludwig Klein (Observatoire de Paris)
  • Kumiko Kotera (IAP co-chair)
  • Fabrice Mottez (Observatoire de Paris, Chair)
  • Colin Norman (STScI, Baltimore, USA)
  • Didier Pelat (Observatoire de Paris)
  • Jérôme Petri (Observatoire de Strasbourg)
  • Christophe Pichon (IAP)
  • Eric Priest (St Andrews University, UK)
  • Evelyne Roueff (Observatoire de Paris)
  • LOC:

  • Fabrice Mottez (Observatoire de Paris)
  • Stéphane Colombi (IAP)
  • Kumiko Kotera (IAP)
  • Olivia Leroy (IAP)
  • Nicole Letourneur (observatoire de Paris)
  • Nathalie Ollivier (Observatoire de Paris)
  • Jacqueline Plancy (Observatoire de Paris)
  • Christophe Pichon (IAP)
  • Sopharith Tep (IAP)
  • Stéphanie Thiou (IAP)

  • page top

    Last updated: 18 March 2013