Service National d'Observation SNO-4

This Service covers all technical aspects of the preparation, implementation, operation and follow-up of deep surveys with the James Webb Space Telescope (JWST). The aim is to carry out simulations to optimize the observation strategy, to characterize the analysis biases, to organize follow-up observations with other instruments, and to generate catalogs of physical parameters with their uncertainties. In a coordinated, regular and standardized way, the SNO will quickly make available to the community all the simulated and observed data, tools and high-level science catalogs that are used and produced by each participating OSU. The SNO4 deliverables will be accompanied by detailed documentation and disseminated via national databases (CDS, CeSAM / Aspic).

Four Observatories of Universe Sciences (OSU), each with its own expertise, make up this SNO to offer service tasks to the French community: the Pytheas Institute (LAM-UMR7326), in charge of the coordination of the service, and the two OSU partners; the Institut d'astrophysique de Paris (IAP-UMR7095), the OSU of Lyon (OSUL) and the OSU of Paris Saclay (OSUPS). This SNO brings together French partner players involved in the James Webb Space Telescope (JWST), with a significant contribution to the development of software instruments, tools and high-level science products.

JWST Master Class Workshop

The call for proposals for the first Cycle of GO observations with JWST will open in January 2020, with an expected deadline in May 2020. The SNO, in collaboration with other partners, is organizing a workshop to prepare the community for the proposal submission process and the use of JWST tools. This event is part of a series of JWST wokshops organized across Europe and coordinated by ESA (cf. the list of workshops here ). The workshop will be held on February 24-25 2020 at the Institut d'Astrophysique de Paris. For more information about the program and the registration, please visit the Workshop website.


The moment JWST separated from the Ariane 5 rocket.

In related News and Resources

Participating Institutes


The Team

Name Institute
Laurence Tresse Laboratoire d'astrophysique de Marseille
Stephane Charlot Institut d'astrophysique de Paris
Hakim Atek Institut d'astrophysique de Paris
Jeremy Blaizot Centre de recherche astrophysique de Lyon
Johan Richard Centre de recherche astrophysique de Lyon
Jacopo Chevallard Institut d'astrophysique de Paris
Olivier Ilbert Laboratoire d'astrophysique de Marseille
Léo Michel-Dansac Centre de recherche astrophysique de Lyon
Stephane Arnouts Laboratoire d'astrophysique de Marseille
Benjamin Magnelli Departement d'astrophysique AIM
David Elbaz Departement d'astrophysique AIM